The picturesque village of Hautvillers, in the Montagne de Reims Natural Park, overlooks the Marne Valley and has an uninterrupted view of the hillside vineyards of Champagne. The alleys, with evocative names such as “Rue de Bacchus” [Bacchus Street] and “Ruelle du Dessous des Clos” [Beneath the Walled Garden Alley] take you on a journey through the history of this village known as “the birthplace of champagne”.
First established in around 650 following a prophetic vision by Saint-Nivard – the archbishop of Reims and nephew of Dagobert, King of the Franks – the Benedictine Abbey of Hautvillers was the home of Pierre Pérignon. The life and work of this famous procurator, who managed the assets of the monastic community from 1668 to 1715, is closely linked to the reputation of Champagne’s wine. The village of Hautvillers, including its ancient abbey, was inscribed on the UNESCO World Heritage list in 2015 under the Champagne Hillsides, Houses and Cellars classification.
“The heritage of the Abbey of Hautvillers, where Dom Pierre Pérignon lived, moves beyond technique.” Richard Geoffroy, Cellar master, Dom Pérignon
Maison Moët & Chandon now owns the site and evening meals can be organised on request (groups of 4 to 12 people maximum).
Maison Dom Pérignon
Tél. : +33 (0) 3 26 51 20 20
E-mail : firstname.lastname@example.org