Olivier Nasti is a force of nature: holder of the prestigious “Meilleur Ouvrier de France” title, two-star chef at 64°, the restaurant at the 5-star Chambard hotel in Kaysersberg, and a fervent advocate of his local produce. His top picks speak of his love of both Alsace and his profession. Interview with an enthusiast...

How do you remain on top form? What’s your secret?

Nature. We work in a tough profession, with a punishing schedule. To charge up with the energy I need to get through the day I climb the peaks at Orbey, near Kaysersberg. It looks amazing in the snow!

 

Of all your recipes, which is your favourite?           

I’ve always worked with wild game in my restaurant, 64°. It’s a tradition here in Alscace and I’m a huge fan of this particular meat. It’s lean, and has lots of potential. I work with the entire animal, but with finesse and apply a light touch. Haunch of venison is delicious as carpaccio served with a wood sorrel mayonnaise. I also prepare a foie gras and black truffle pie with shoulder of venison, a recipe inspired by the final of the Meilleur Ouvrier de France competition. I serve it with a purée made with a Christine Ferber baerewaecka, a nod to Alsace, as well as mushrooms, spinach and a light sauce.

 

Which wine would you recommend?

With wild game, it has to be a red Pinot Noir from Alsace*!

 (Remarks taken from Zut magazine!)

 

 *Red Pinot Noir is one-of-a-kind in Alsace, a region renowned for its white wines. Fleshy, well-structured, with a delicate red colour and a taste of its terroir, Pinot Noir pairs perfectly with red meats and wild game. This is a tasting must!

Geolocation: 

Le 64° Restaurant du Chambard*****

9-13 avenue du Général de Gaulle

68240 Kaysersberg

Tel. : + 33 3 89 47 10 17

Meilleur ouvrier de France, Chef deux étoiles du 64°, restaurant du Chambard***** à Kaysersberg et amoureux autant qu'ambassadeur de son terroir, Olivier Nasti est une personnalité. Ses coups de cœur en disent long sur son amour pour l'Alsace et pour son métier. Portrait d'un passionné...

Quel est votre secret pour être toujours au top ?

La nature. Nous avons un métier difficile, un rythme soutenu. Je viens sur les hauteurs d’Orbey, près de Kaysersberg, pour puiser l’énergie nécessaire pour ma journée. Lorsqu’il neige, c’est splendide !

 

Si vous deviez choisir l'une de vos recettes ?          

J’ai toujours beaucoup travaillé le gibier dans mon restaurant le 64°. C’est une tradition alsacienne. C’est une viande que j’affectionne particulièrement. C’est une viande maigre, au potentiel incroyable. Je travaille l’ensemble de l’animal, tout en délicatesse et en légèreté. Le cuisseau du chevreuil se déguste en carpaccio avec une mayonnaise à l’oxalys. Je réalise une tourte aux truffes noires et foie gras avec l’épaule du chevreuil, une recette inspirée de la finale du concours de Meilleur Ouvrier de France. Je l'accompagne d'une purée de baerewaecka de Christine Ferber, clin d’œil à l’Alsace, de champignons, d’épinards et d’une sauce légère.

 

Si vous deviez choisir un vin, lequel nous conseilleriez-vous ?

Avec le gibier, un Pinot Noir Rouge d’Alsace* !

(Propos recueillis dans le magazine Zut !)

 

*Le Pinot Noir Rouge est unique dans la collection des vins d’Alsace, connue pour ses grands blancs. Charnu, charpenté, au goût du terroir sur lequel il s’enracine, le Pinot Noir offre sa belle robe rouge sombre aux viandes rouges et aux gibiers avec lequel il se marie à merveille. A tester absolument !

Geolocation: 

Le 64° Restaurant du Chambard*****

9-13 avenue du Général de Gaulle

68240 Kaysersberg

Tél. : + 33 3 89 47 10 17