Chef Mathias DANDINE works hard to showcase Mediterranean cuisine with its sun-drenched flavours he takes pleasure in revisiting through his creations. In total symbiosis with this terroir and this region he loves so much, he composes a gastronomic symphony with the warm accents of the South.

Being born and bred here, what is your approach to the local terroir?

At Le Saint-Estève life is guided by the seasons! Events mark the arrival of the produce we use. In December, the Sunday before Christmas is the day of the truffle market. We welcome chef friends for a weekend entirely devoted to the black truffle. They come from the Lubéron, the Var and even the Côte d’Azur.The best local wine suppliers and top-quality craftsmen who usually work with me always rise to the occasion.

For example, the Domaine de Richeaume at Puyloubier, is extraordinary! In the Coteaux d'Aix region, Château Revelette owned by Peter Ficher is also remarkable and produces some fantastic wines. Peter really captures the terroir, the identity of the terroir. In my opinion this is the reason why they are among the best wine-growers in France.

The current wine menu is a selection of local domains, with different vintages to highlight the specific features of each of them. I like the idea that the customer can taste two vintages from the same domain and be surprised by the way the wine changes over time.

 

If you had to choose one of your dishes which you think best sums up the Pays d’Aix terroir, which would it be?

The “Pan Bagnat” and Palamos prawns (from the Mediterranean) smothered in anchovy sauce. It’s a dish that matches the region: a simple dish you can eat “on the go”. In Provence you can eat without having to cook, a piece of bread and tapenade, a bit of goat’s cheese...it’s outdoor cuisine to match the climate.

Simple but refined.

 

Which wine would you match to it?

I would say a 2008 white Château Crémade from the Palette AOC. It would bring out the flavour of the herbs and spices!

Geolocation: 

Le Saint Estève

2250 Route Cézanne

13100 LE THOLONET

Tel: +33 4 42 27 10 14

Email: reservation@llsv.fr

Le chef Mathias DANDINE s’applique à mettre en exergue la cuisine méditerranéenne, des saveurs gorgées de soleil qu’il se plaît à revisiter à travers ses créations. En totale osmose avec ce terroir et cette région qu’il aime tant, il compose une partition gastronomique aux doux accents du Sud.

En tant qu’enfant du pays, quel est votre approche du terroir local  ?

Au Saint-Estève on vit au rythme des saisons ! Les événements ponctuent l’arrivée des produits. En décembre, le dimanche qui précède Noël, c’est le marché de la truffe, on accueille des amis chefs pour ce week-end entièrement consacré à la truffe noire. Ils viennent du luberon, du Var et même de la Côte d’Azur. Les meilleurs fournisseurs de vins locaux et les artisans de qualité qui ont l’habitude de travailler avec moi répondent toujours présent.

Le domaine de Richeaume à Puyloubier par exemple est extraordinaire ! En coteaux d’Aix, le château Revelette de Peter Ficher est aussi remarquable et produit de belles choses. Peter s’accapare le terroir, l’identité du territoire. Pour moi, c'est notamment pour cette raison qu'ils font partie des meilleurs vignerons de France.

La carte des vins actuelle est une sélection des domaines locaux, avec différents millésimes pour mettre en valeur les spécificités de chacun d'entre eux. J’aime l’idée que le client puisse goûter 2 millésimes d’un même domaine et être surpris par les effets de l'évolution du vin.

 

Si vous deviez choisir l’un de vos plats qui décrit selon vous le mieux le terroir du Pays d’Aix, lequel serait-il ?

Le Pan bagnat et crevettes de Palamos (de méditerranée) baigné de sauce aux anchois. C’est un plat en adéquation avec la région : un plat simple que l’on peut manger « sur le pouce ». En Provence on est capable de manger sans se mettre en cuisine, un morceau de pain et de tapenade, du fromage de chèvre… c’est une cuisine de l’extérieur, en adéquation avec le climat.

Elle est simple mais rafinée.

 

Avec quel vin l’associeriez-vous ?

Je dirais un Château Crémade blanc de 2008 en AOC Palette, il saura bien relever le goût des herbes et des aromates !

Geolocation: 

Le Saint Estève

2250 Route Cézanne

13100 LE THOLONET

Tél. : +33 4 42 27 10 14

Email : reservation@llsv.fr